Massage | Ohio | Licensing updates

Ohio Massage CE Statute Is Effective; Confirm Renewal Implementation

Ohio’s massage CE statute took effect October 6, 2026, but it does not specify hours. Confirm implementing rules and renewal instructions with the Board.

  • Ask the Board which CE rule, hours, approved activities, and transition schedule apply to your renewal.
  • Do not rely on an unverified hour count or assume older no-CE guidance overrides the effective statute.
  • Keep CE and renewal records and monitor official rule filings before choosing courses.

Published: 2026-08-25 · Reviewed: 2026-10-12

Official context

Ohio Revised Code section 4731.191, amended by Senate Bill 276, became effective October 6, 2026. It makes renewal CE depend on hours and approved activities defined by State Medical Board rules and allows Board-approved exceptions. The statute is now effective rather than awaiting its October date; statutory effectiveness alone does not supply the implementing hour count.

What this means

The statute does not state a number of hours and provides for forfeiture of practice rights for noncompliance. The Board’s massage licensing page still says no CE is required, while the current statute establishes a rule-based obligation. This review could not resolve the Board-page discrepancy or verify the operative implementation schedule and hour total. Therapists should confirm the requirements for their renewal directly with the Board instead of relying on a commercial course claim or treating the older guidance as an exemption.

Official sources

Licensing & Industry Updates is an educational summary of official public communications. It is not legal advice, and filing decisions should be checked against the current board page or rule text.

View course